This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Test | Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In
Ruth Ravich Patient Advocacy Award

The Ruth Ravich Patient Advocacy Award is presented by the Patient Advocacy Council of The Beryl Institute. Awarded annually since 1991, first by the Society for Healthcare Consumer Advocacy (SHCA) Board of Directors, and now by the thought leaders of the Patient Advocacy Council, the award recognizes an individual for outstanding contributions, dedication, leadership and loyal service to fellow Patient Advocates.

In 1991, the SHCA Board of Directors established the Ruth Ravich Award to recognize an individual whose work supported the vision of bringing the patients’ needs to the center of healthcare. Ruth Ravich was the founder and first president of the Society for Healthcare Consumer Advocacy. Ms. Ravich organized the Patient Representative Department at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York, was the author of numerous healthcare consumer articles, and lectured on patient advocacy both in the United States and abroad. The first award was presented in 1991 to Ruth Ravich, the Society’s first president, and for whom the award is named. As the profession of Patient Advocacy and patient centered care has evolved, the award has come to also recognize individuals within the Patient Advocacy Council who engage in focused efforts to be of support to fellow Advocates in promoting patient rights and patient centered care.

Past Recipients

1991: Ruth Ravich  2001: Mindy Raymond 2012: Brian Tipton
1992: Nancy Schlichting 2003: Anita Woodward 2013: Stephen Cahoon
1993: Wendy Leebov 2004: Linda Tyre 2014: Sandi Sands
1994: Helen Rehr 2005: Carol Santalucia 2015: Bibi Alley
1995: Linda Dewolf 2006: Brenda Radford 2016: Sheila Brune
1996: Carol McAdoo 2007: Irene Zbiczak 2017: Eve Devaro-Fowler
1997: Ellen Martin 2009: Jerri Scarzella 2018: Melissa Thompson
1999: Laura McHenry 2010: Ellen Tolbert 2019: Ashley Doyle
2000: Donna Davison-Smith 2011: Ruth Sullivan 2020: Ashley Egan


The award may be given to anyone working in the healthcare field as a patient advocate who is a current member of The Beryl Institute.

Nominate a Patient Advocate at your facility today!

A nominated candidate or applicant must meet at least one of the following criteria:

1. Has a public identity that raises awareness about the rights of people seeking healthcare.
2. Has provided outstanding service to a community of people seeking healthcare.
3. Has provided significant service in furthering the public image of the patient advocate role.
4. Has contributed time and service to the PAC of the Beryl Institute or the PAC Regional Communities.


Stay Connected

Sign up for our informative series of monthly e-newsletters from The Beryl Institute.

The Beryl Institute
1831 12th Avenue South, #212
Nashville, TN 37203