This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Test | Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In
Patient Experience Innovation Awards
Share |

The Beryl Institute's PX Innovation Awards provide a platform for sharing and celebrating some of the great work being done across the globe to improve the human experience in healthcare. We understand the effort it takes to change cultures, implement new strategies and build true partnerships with patients and families. In order to recognize those efforts, we will honor and celebrate innovation among advisors, healthcare professionals and teams.

During Patient Experience Conference 2019, winners were celebrated and announced for all four Innovation Awards. Below are the winners and their award video. You can also read the press release here.

 PX Innovation Awards - Four Categories
 Unique Criteria

Organizational Innovation Award
Awarded to a healthcare organization dedicated to innovations that improve the human experience in healthcare

2019 Winner: Baylor Scott & White Health, Palliative Care, Child Life Services

> View video

  • Work environment: Positively impacts the organization’s culture, e.g joy in work, addresses burnout
  • Adoption/Spread: Can show the innovation has permeated the organization
  • Partnership/Co-Design: Engaged a breadth of voices from staff, providers, patients and family members, etc. to both identify problems and potential solutions

Innovative Team Award
Awarded to a team working in healthcare that developed and implemented innovative methods to improve teamwork

2019 Winner: Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital

> View video

  • Workflow: Changes how a unit, department or team does its work, positively impacting efficiency and culture
  • Team engagement: Innovation was designed with the team in a desire to impact safety, quality and experience
  • Transferable: The innovation can be adapted and spread beyond the team for which is was created

Innovative Healthcare Professional Award
Awarded to a healthcare professional who created or lead an innovation which resulted in positive change

2019 Winners: “Dexter” Janet Borrowman with Maui Health System (Kaiser)

> View video

    • Leadership/Influence: Individual showed personal vision and leadership in driving innovation
    • Perseverance: Individual drove innovation despite many other duties and priorities
    • Caring: Individual displays a depth of caring for improving the patient, family and/or staff experience that inspires others to action

    Innovative Patient/Family Advisor Award
    Awarded to a PFA who lead or inspired an innovation that positively impacted the patient and family experience

    2019 Winner: Earl Shellner with Anne Arundel Medical Center

    > View video

    • Leadership: As a PFA, individual assumed the role of a “person of influence” within the organization
    • Inspiration: Individual represented the voice of patients and families in such a way that it inspired a new way of thinking within the organization
    • Collaboration: Individual partners well with the healthcare organization’s leadership and staff


    In addition to criteria for each unique award, all awards must also have the following:

    • Measureable: Innovations that have data to show efficacy will be given extra consideration
    • Out of the Box: Presents a new way of looking at an issue or opportunity or raises an idea not yet considered

    Sharing knowledge in the patient experience community is central to the values of The Beryl Institute. In that spirit, runners up and other submissions may be highlighted in the “2019 Innovation Report” and other publications distributed by The Beryl Institute.



    For additional questions, please contact Tiffany Christensen, Vice President, Experience Innovation at or by 866.488.2379 x709.

    Stay Connected

    Sign up for our informative series of monthly e-newsletters from The Beryl Institute.

    The Beryl Institute
    1831 12th Avenue South, #212
    Nashville, TN 37203